Poets logo

Night verses

For the Smooth Challenge

By Hannah MoorePublished 7 months ago 1 min read
13
Night verses
Photo by Matthew Fassnacht on Unsplash

I wrote a poem in the night,

In the sinuous focus of maybe dreaming.

A perfect poem. The words unfurled,

Lay softly down, one and then another,

Flowing in my mind, each honey hued rune

A cursive, gently contoured pearl,

To bead the collar of a tender rose.

~

Now these fractured abrupt

Lines extorted in this unkempt waking,

Make mockery of the ecstatic dark.

In staccato voices, decrepit cogitations

Stutter in guttural punches,

A quivering soliloquy,

As I clutch at tarnished straws.

+

I wrote a poem in the night,

Rested my head on a feathered pillow,

Sure of the morning light.

But my words deceived my mellow mind,

And lulled me back to sleeping.

Then crept away in silent stealth

To paint silken, ombre morning.

art
13

About the Creator

Hannah Moore

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen7 months ago

    MY, my...you are on fire. Words organizing themselves into such wonderful feats of nature. Wow!

  • Heather Hubler7 months ago

    Goodness yes!! You made that struggle feel so intricate and elegant with your amazing words. Outstanding work, my friend :)

  • This poem was beautiful, wistful, intelligent, and a million other things. So very well done.

  • G. A. Botero7 months ago

    Bravo! Loved these line "Flowing in my mind, each honey hued rune A cursive, gently contoured pearl, "

  • This was sooooo relatable! It happened to me many times! Fantastic poem for the challenge!

  • M7 months ago

    I love the ending.

  • Dana Crandell7 months ago

    Oh, so relatable, and your writing is truly a cut above on this one! I absolutely love it.

  • Cathy holmes7 months ago

    Oh yes. Sometimes it's just perfect, until you get up and the words are gone.

  • Caroline Jane7 months ago

    So. Many. Times. The sandman's shifting Sands are cruel landscapes. Love this entry. ❤

  • Mother Combs7 months ago

    so smooth. Love it

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.