Poets logo

Night Drive

By Miguel da PontePublished 3 days ago 1 min read

Splashes of neon, sinful almost,

The red?

Precisely. In the rain,

The floor is lava.

Not so scary. Just spilled wine on a shag carpet,

And the green is Chartreuse? Sourpuss apple?

Something else entirely. Emerald,

Yes, jade, I can see it.

It paints you through the window,

You too. Which makes the yellow -

Too fleeting to notice.

So life then. A good metaphor,

Faster. I can feel it coming.

Yesterday I was waking up in a bunk bed

Under that kid from Toronto,

With the nasal thing, smart though,

I remember, I met him that time,

That first time.

Yes.

A beat.

Stop here. I hear sirens

Would you call for me?

From the rooftops if you wish

I only meant an ambulance

Yes, and I meant to the world.

I wish you would have,

I will, watch me,

Roll up the window. I’m talking about the ambulance.

I’ll drive faster.

Have we been here before?

You must be thinking of your other husband,

He’s like you but taller. We’re going in circles.

No we aren’t.

It hurts,

I know. We’re getting close.

Darling,

Yes?

Squeeze my hand.

But it’s a manual.

You’ll make a good father.

Free Verse

About the Creator

Miguel da Ponte

Bartender by night, disc golfer by day. Lover of breakfast foods and the same music my dad probably listened to. I live on a boat and I like to write sometimes.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Joe Patterson3 days ago

    Great free versing.

  • The use of colors and their associations creates a lively and engaging experience for the reader. Waking up in a bunk bed and meeting someone from Toronto adds a touch of nostalgia and curiosity, thank you very much for sharing, love your works, hope to read more, subscribed.

Miguel da PonteWritten by Miguel da Ponte

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.