Poets logo

Night Barking

A poem for Poppy's Prompts, January Edition

By Rachel DeemingPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
Night Barking
Photo by Vladislav Muslakov on Unsplash

Poppy has set a challenge with certain prompts! You can read about here:

***

It's 2am in witches' time.

Darkness encases me as I cough.

Fire! Fire! Fire!

There are no bullet holes

From my prolonged assault.

I wish to break out of barking

But my throat is tickled by dandelions

And their spores chase sleep.

My head pounds with each expulsion

And I knock against my sickness casing

Like the smallest of the Babushka Dolls.

Rattling to be free.

Let me out.

Release me now.

I am tired.

I long to rest my patchwork head.

***

Thanks for stopping by. If you've read this story, please do leave a comment as I love to interact with my readers.

Free Verse

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Storyteller. Poet. Reviewer. Traveller.

I love to write. Check me out in the many places where I pop up:

Medium

My blog

Reedsy

Linkedin

Goodreads

X

Facebook

Beware of imitators.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (9)

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    This is really well done, and it seem you may not be feeling well. Love the metaphor.

  • This was so poignant and emotional. So happy that you used all the words from the prompt! Loved your poem!

  • Poppy 6 months ago

    This is so well done! “But my throat is tickled by dandelions“ is some great description! “ And I knock against my sickness casing Like the smallest of the Babushka Dolls.” That is a brilliant BRILLIANT use of that prompt!

  • Shirley Belk6 months ago

    "Like the smallest of the Babushka Dolls. Rattling to be free." Such a great line

  • Love this... "I am tired. I long to rest my patchwork head"

  • Daphsam6 months ago

    Wonderfully written!

  • Hannah Moore6 months ago

    That cold taken hold then? This is unpleasantly visceral.

  • Gerard DiLeo6 months ago

    Like the smallest of the Babushka Dolls. Rattling to be free. Let me out. Great phrasing!

  • Paul Stewart6 months ago

    Ooooh. love this. Very creative! Great entry for the prompt challenge thingo! :) Well done, Rachel!

Rachel DeemingWritten by Rachel Deeming

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.