Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

News Articles

I'll never trust them again after 2017.

By Rene PetersPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 1 min read
News Articles
Photo by AbsolutVision on Unsplash

TW: mention of crashes, ICU, guns, and accused racism

I read it again last night,

the news article about my dad.

My blood was boiling

as I read the lies.

The cruel comments

pissing me off more.

Why would they tell

such filthy lies?

Talking about the motorcycle accident,

a heartbreaking night for us...

"He's in the hospital with minor injuries."

He was in the ICU with a fucking brain aneurysm.

How the actual fuck is that "minor,"

put on an anti-seizure medicine because of it.

Then, only 2.5 months later...

"brandished a loaded 9mm handgun and yelled racial epithets at another driver in a Home Depot parking lot Sunday afternoon in a fit of road rage"

Quit fucking lying about my father,

claiming he is racist,

claiming he had an illegal gun,

claiming he did the wrong stuff.

He pulled it out, taking a lot of effort,

because the other driver tried to start shit.

All because of race, my father had to worry about safety.

Not just his own either,

my sister, my mother, and my brother.

Quit fucking lying in goddamn news articles!

The news,

full of fucking lies,

not giving two shits about the truth.

I hope you know you're untrustworthy.

About the Creator

Rene Peters

I write what I know, usually in the form of poetry. I tend to lean towards mental health, epilepsy, and loss/grieving.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Test4 months ago

    I'm sorry this happened

  • Test4 months ago

    Wow! This is awful. Papers have a habit of twisting the truth to suit the news cycle x I am sorry you experience it first hand though 🤍

  • I'm so sorry this happened to him 🥺

  • Mother Combs10 months ago

    Truth doesn't sell. <3<3<3<3<3

Rene PetersWritten by Rene Peters

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.