Poets logo

Dark Nightmare on a Hot Summer Night

A poem inspired by the Meat Loaf song You Took the Words Right out of My Mouth (Hot Summer Night)

By Rasma RaistersPublished 2 days ago 1 min read

A stormy night,

plunged me into a world of nightmares,

as thunder crashed

and lightning flashed –

I was plunged into a world of darkness.

The humid, hot air,

made me feel out of breath.

On and on I went,

through a forest,

till I came to a clearing,

where a sinister moon –

came shining down.

High above on a craggy hill,

highlighted by the lightning,

stood a castle –

a castle nightmares are made of.

A path led me on,

thunder crashed, making my ears ring,

until I stood at the gate,

that would lead me into that castle.

No human owner,

could possibly have created it,

unless it was the Beast

and I was meant to be its Beauty.

Slowly the door opened,

upon total darkness,

illumination from the windows –

only as lightning flashed.

Looking up on the stairs,

in the shadows, he stood,

I saw an outline, there were horns.

Then the Beast barred its fangs,

he was looking for some company.

Slowly he descended,

as he stood before me,

it seemed there was no fear,

he whispered something,

about having waited for me

and then that creature, that surely was the Beast,

from that familiar fairy tale,

bent toward me.

In the next flash of lightning,

crash of thunder,

I was hypnotized –

as I felt his kiss upon my nape

and I fell into a dead faint.

There was a moment of some flashback,

when I was the Beauty,

dancing with the Beast -

damn, he was a handsome creature.

Opening my eyes,

a bright sun was shining,

sighing I knew my nightmare was over,

placing my feet on the floor,

looking for my slippers,

there they were,

covered with the mud of my nightmare

and a red rose on my night table.

art

About the Creator

Rasma Raisters

My passions are writing and creating poetry. I write for several sites online and have four themed blogs on Wordpress. Please follow me on Twitter.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Andrea Corwin about 23 hours ago

    Great job and tribute to Meat Loaf's song - No human owner, could possibly have created it, unless it was the Beast and I was meant to be its Beauty. I especially liked those lines!

Rasma RaistersWritten by Rasma Raisters

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.