Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Scars

My struggle with scars

By Rene PetersPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
Scars
Photo by Luis Villasmil on Unsplash

Scars...

They're a life changer.

Sometimes a life ruiner.

They can show strength.

To some people, however,

they show "weakness."

*

Scars...

I don't want them to define me

but it feels like that's how it will be.

I believe they'll never fade,

They make many people run away.

I will always be trapped in this pattern.

*

Scars...

They're my only friends,

the only ones always there for me,

the only ones I don't feel judged by.

I want them to stop

but there's no end in sight.

performance poetrysad poetry

About the Creator

Rene Peters

I write what I know, usually in the form of poetry. I tend to lean towards mental health, epilepsy, and loss/grieving.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran10 months ago

    I self harm a lot so this was very relatable. Loved your poem!

  • Jazzy 10 months ago

    Scars are so powerful! I know some kids call them their warrior spots! But also” scars” by Papa Roach!

  • Veronica Coldiron10 months ago

    Scars are proof that you weren't beaten. AWESOME! Poem!

  • Mother Combs10 months ago

    Battle scars. Proof you've lived

  • Kendall Defoe 10 months ago

    Some of the worst scars are the ones the world never sees.

Rene PetersWritten by Rene Peters

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.