Poets logo

New Year, New Me

It's time for self-loathing to set my new year's resolutions.

By Ellie ScottPublished about a year ago 1 min read
2
Image by author created with Dream

It's 2023 and I'm a new me.

I'm transformed - can't you see?

I've found discipline overnight;

I'm taking my health seriously.

I can now say no to pizza and chips,

not a grain of sugar will pass these lips,

I'll be hitting the gym 6 a.m. each day

to sculpt rock hard abs and curvy hips.

If I don't lose 20 pounds by spring

my life won't be fucking worth living.

I'm not putting undue pressure on myself,

I'm "setting goals" and "manifesting".

And I'm not a bore for doing dry January,

and it's "intermittent fasting", not "going hungry",

and I call it "Keto" not "disordered eating",

'Cos it's 2023 and I'm a new me.

sad poetrysocial commentaryinspirational
2

About the Creator

Ellie Scott

Writer, worrier, big fan of dogs. https://linktr.ee/elliescott

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Cyrus5 months ago

    And we'll still repeat the "goal setting" in 2024 anyways😂

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.