Poets logo

Dead Asleep

In they come from the wings - the dead.

By Ellie ScottPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Top Story - January 2023
27
Dead Asleep
Photo by Ning Shi on Unsplash

I’m glued to lone chair beneath spotlight,

dripping sweat,

and in they come from the wings—

the dead.

People and pets all long gone

now present,

so present

I feel them,

smell aftershave and perfume,

dog-fust and person-fugue.

Sweat tickles at collarbone.

Hug me?

I reach stiff, can't touch.

The dead are gilded statues.

Talk to me?

I strain ears, can't hear.

The dead hold silent vigil.

Me next?

Light my way to great unknown;

I'll come easy,

willing,

hop-skip-jumping,

relief so near

I can feel its

cool breeze soothing.

The dead smile small,

lock eyes that say

Go On With You.

Their lights fade.

I panic,

beg,

clutch at air

and damp sheets.

Don't leave.

Lungs ache as unsaid expands,

hurries heart,

squeezes stomach,

quells breath.

Sweat sets shivers,

teeth chatter,

bones rattle

me awake.

I’m here.

They're gone.

I'm alive.

They're dead.

Same as it was

before sleep took hold

but now the curtain rises

on a fresh act.

love poemssurreal poetrysad poetryinspirational
27

About the Creator

Ellie Scott

Writer, worrier, big fan of dogs. https://linktr.ee/elliescott

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Marvin Bastowabout a year ago

    Investing on the cryptocurrency market has been a main source of income, that's why knowledge plays a very important role in humanity, you don't need to over work yourself for money.All you need is the right information, and you could build your own wealth from the comfort of your home!Binary trading is dependent on timely signals, assets or controlled strategies which when mastered increases chance of winning up to 90%-100% with trading. It’s possible to earn $10,000 to $20,000 trading weekly-monthly in cryptocurrency(bitcoin) investment,just get in contact with Mr Bernie Doran my broker. I had almost given up on everything and even getting my lost funds back, till i met with him, with his help and guidance now i have my lost funds back to my bank account, gained more profit and I can now trade successfully with his profitable strategies and software!! 
Reach out to him through Gmail : Bernie.doranfx01gmailcom ,Telegram: bernie_fx or WhatsApp +1(424)285-0682 for inquires

  • Bernard Thomasabout a year ago

    excellent post I want to express my gratitude for the time and work you put into producing this insightful and fascinating essay. https://drift-boss.co/

  • Tiffany Gordon about a year ago

    Phenomenal work!

  • David Parhamabout a year ago

    love it

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    great poem, enjoyed the read

  • Shannon Loewenabout a year ago

    I love the rhythm of this piece. Well done. :)

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    Hmmm. Astounding capture of a dream with masterful poetic artistry. Congrats. Deserves Top Billing. Subscribed. 🥰

  • Michael Darvallabout a year ago

    I like the economical, almost austere use of words to frame the imagery.

  • Carol Townendabout a year ago

    This would make a brilliant poetic play. It's an excellent poem.

  • Andrew Scottabout a year ago

    Very moving - I enjoyed your portrayal of your emotions. Why would passing into death be a relief for you?

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    Very good!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.