Poets logo

New Songs

A Poem of Identity

By KJ AartilaPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
12
New Songs
Photo by Josiah Weiss on Unsplash

New Songs

You broke me,

then you woke me,

then I left

***

with my dog,

and my pick-up truck,

and my runaway-bag.

***

At the cross-roads,

I drove away from the money,

and the stringy promises;

***

heading toward the horizon beyond.

***

At that turn, I decided -

I would never dance again

to the beat of someone else’s drum.

***

I turned up my own music;

the ballads with driving beats.

And then I felt my thumping heart.

***

Arms raised in songs of freedom,

my smile shone brightly

in the colors of the sun.

***

Written from the time I decided to leave my x-husband to claim the identity waiting for me. Thanks for reading!

surreal poetry
12

About the Creator

KJ Aartila

A writer of words in northern WI with a small family and a large menagerie.

My Substack

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • C. Rommial Butler6 months ago

    The world gives us opportunities to define our selves, to either become what we are or be what they made us. Sometimes, like the bodhisattva, we decide we can't move on while leaving others behind. Sometimes, leaving others behind is the best thing for all concerned. You captured the beauty of moving on well!

  • Novel Allen6 months ago

    FReedom awaits. Never again being defined by someone's else's overbearing ego is such a joy. Run and never look back.

  • JBaz6 months ago

    I actually was singing while reading this, I loved it

  • J. Delaney-Howe6 months ago

    I think this is empowering! Well done.

  • Heather Hubler6 months ago

    Damn, that was so freeing to read! I loved your word choices and phrasing. What a wonderful entry, Keila :)

  • May the drumbeat you now hear resonate with who you are deeply & intimately. And may you dance.

  • At that turn, I decided - I would never dance again to the beat of someone else’s drum. This stanza was my favourite! Loved your poem!

  • Mariann Carroll6 months ago

    A great promise ahead , poem. Love

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    Excellent. Love that last stanza.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.