Poets logo

Watch Me Fly Away

A Poem

By KJ AartilaPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
11
Watch Me Fly Away
Photo by Danilo Batista on Unsplash

Watch Me Fly Away

My adoration was expansive,

smiling for attention; a gauntlet thrown.

I saw you that time when I was a balloon

trapped by the solid ceiling, holding my flight in check.

Finally, I deflated.

***

Here you are again, not even present,

but your voice is clear - "You are not to be valued.”

I remain an unworthy victim of your selfish love,

gifted and re-gifted until the thoughts became ingrained.

***

Today, I’m sad – I can feel your flinty stare glaring from my eyes,

trying to spark fires from cold ash.

Maybe I’m grieving for a life that never was real.

***

But the Phoenix will fly,

healing the world with its tears.

***

I’ve preened my feathers.

***

surreal poetry
11

About the Creator

KJ Aartila

A writer of words in northern WI with a small family and a large menagerie.

My Substack

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen6 months ago

    Remember the phoenix gets reborn from its ashes. Always. Never fear, those preened feathers are just waiting for rebirth.

  • Raymond G. Taylor6 months ago

    Lovely verse and poignant thanks for sharing.

  • ThatWriterWoman6 months ago

    Gorgeous imagery here KJ! Brilliantly done!

  • C. Rommial Butler6 months ago

    Lovely! We only ever accrue it to give it away. The sun burns without knowledge of itself, whereas those that drink its light believe themselves their own animators. Irony abounds!

  • The phoenix would definitely fly! Sending you lots of love and hugs! ❤️

  • Beautiful, from captured/deflating balloon to preening/healing phoenix. I'm hearing shades of Carrie Underwood's "Before He Cheats" in this (though it sounds more like dismissal & neglect than cheating, but still....).

  • Babs Iverson6 months ago

    Magnificently written!!! Love it!!! Sending positive vibes & virtual hugs!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Gerald Holmes6 months ago

    Heartfelt and powerful. Hope you are okay!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.