Poets logo

Earned Good-bye

whatever

By KJ AartilaPublished 7 months ago Updated 7 months ago 1 min read
12
Earned Good-bye
Photo by Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

Earned Good-bye

May you not forget

the gratitude you met

in return for half pennies and lies

***

It started a good game,

without fortune or fame

for earning half pennies, not lies

***

I tried to be patient

while asked for investment

in return for half pennies and lies

***

Well, I’ve played by your rules,

and jumped through your hoops

to earn my half pennies and lies

***

I’ve got more rows to hoe

than just selling my soul

to earn those half pennies and lies

***

Not that you care

in your narcissistic flair

But now, I must say my good-byes

to more possible half pennies and lies.

*********************************************************************

Thank you for reading this ridiculous diatribe! If you care to read more of me, you can find me here!

inspirationalsocial commentarysad poetryheartbreakfact or fiction
12

About the Creator

KJ Aartila

A writer of words in northern WI with a small family and a large menagerie.

My Substack

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • ThatWriterWoman7 months ago

    The repetition of 'half-pennies and lies' brings brilliant contrast with the changes of circumstance in each little verse. Brilliantly done!

  • I must admit, I'm enjoying following your continuing grievance with Vocal. I do plan on getting over to read what you're putting up elsewhere. I've saved all the notifications, but it's just been too busy around here.

  • StoryholicFinds7 months ago

    Love it ❤️

  • C. Rommial Butler7 months ago

    The commodification of life never lives up to its own hype, and eventually drags us all down with it! I once saw this written on a bathroom wall: "The dollar will never fall as low as some people are willing to stoop for it."

  • Are you leaving Vocal? 🥺 I clicked your link and subscribed. At least I think I did. I hope so 😅

  • Judey Kalchik 7 months ago

    Amazing rhythm and thank you for the link to your new home

  • Alex H Mittelman 7 months ago

    This is great! 😀

  • Babs Iverson7 months ago

    KJ, well done!!! Sending hugs and leaving some love!!!

  • Thavien Yliaster7 months ago

    If You haven't got a penny a hay penny will do. If You haven't got a hay penny, then God bless You. I hope that my comment gives You more than that. Hopefully my comment is worth more than a penny. Call it my two cents. If I had a drop of silver that I could pull from my tongue, I'd give You my ten cents for free. As silver tongues often speak golden words. And Yours are truer than ever, more deserving of copper. But even as it corrodes, I've become rather fond of copper.

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Jay Kantor7 months ago

    Hi Kj ~ Always fun to see what you have for us next - I'm not a 'Rule' or a Poet Guy - 'Whatever' - Just an old fashioned storyteller ~ but so enjoy your marvelous talent. J-bud

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.