Poets logo

New Love

Little One

By Celestia MorellePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
5

I kept my eyes closed for a long time.

Partially for the pain,

Mostly in fear,

But the greatest wail in history

Causes them to open.

Across the room

Wrapped in a blanket

There, I finally see you,

Seven pounds and six ounces,

Exactly like me.

It’s in those minutes,

As I stare at you,

That our eyes suddenly connect,

And I think of all the words

You remind me of;

Small.

Delicate.

Rainbows.

Loud,

And maybe gross.

Once you’re clean I’d say;

Soft.

Chunky.

Tired,

Maybe hungry.

I know I’m tired,

Your dad and I,

Exhausted.

I think about your room.

Blues.

Yellows.

Small,

But ready for you.

It’s been ready for years.

We waited and waited,

We’ve been through so much

But hearing you cry,

Well, it makes me cry.

Tears of joy of course.

Because you’re,

Here.

Alive.

Healthy.

Happy,

and maybe grumpy.

Our little one,

You seem,

Sleepy.

Giggly.

Curious,

And maybe gassy.

Just know I love you.

More than I love your daddy,

But don’t tell him.

Let it be our secret.

Let our lives be filled with

The sound of your wails.

A reminder that you’re here.

That you made it,

And that maybe you love us too.

love poems
5

About the Creator

Celestia Morelle

When I write, I connect with a part of me that otherwise doesn’t exist. She’s a flame that I spend hundreds of thousands of words trying to grasp. I hope you feel her too when you’re reading. I turn the sirens voice into art, for she is me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.