Poets logo

chemistry

(lessons)

By Sara Published 15 days ago 1 min read
11

the universe plays

a game

to trick humans

into procreation.

we call it love.

the oxytocin

you breathed into me

was combustible matter,

breakable chemical bonds.

we call it connection.

the erosion of you

burned a hole in my chest,

you left my skin

in cinders.

we call it chemistry.

you spread through my veins

like parasites

feasting at my flesh

but i stayed.

i called it a symbiotic relationship.

my androgens

said it was my heart

so i closed my eyes

and listened.

i formed a hypothesis-

you loved me,

right?

to you i was just a failed experiment.

heartbreakart
11

About the Creator

Sara

Don’t look for love.

Be love.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran15 days ago

    Gosh that last line hit me so hard! Loved your poem!

  • Andrea Corwin 15 days ago

    Oh kick him to the curb!

  • Atomic Historian15 days ago

    Thank you for inspiring this. I wrote it right after reading this https://vocal.media/poets/the-last-line-xg3m0604

  • Atomic Historian15 days ago

    I’ve been the last to many

  • Zakari Runge15 days ago

    what a powerful piece! i loved it! thank you for sharing! you are beyond talented and i am so grateful i found your page! :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.