Poets logo

Fly Little Dove

Fly, fly away, my love.

By Celestia MorellePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
5

Tired, alone, I’ve seen it all.

I don’t think I even want to fall

again into the depths,

that claim to bring love.

Fly, fly away little dove.

There’s a moment,

I know,

that longs to grow

when a stranger says, "Hello."

He smiles and waves.

He shakes my hand.

I fumble with my words,

confused by this man.

Wishing

Hoping

Wanting.

Then I remember how tired I am.

How my hearts been broken before.

He makes me flutter,

with words like silk,

and I feel myself falling.

I wish I could fly away.

I want to be mad.

I want to be glad.

I can’t really make up my mind.

I’m a girl in duress,

but he takes away my stress.

So where does that leave me?

Wishing.

Wanting.

Hoping?

His touch - electric.

My stomach flips.

My heart’s a mile a minute.

Am I doing this?

Is this real?

Does he really feel

some kind of love for me,

or are we just pretending?

I wish I could fly,

the way time does,

as we grow closer and closer.

No longer a stranger,

now a friend.

I wait for it to end.

Despite love at first sight

I’ve put up a pretty good fight.

I did my best,

and now we’ll see.

If our love can pass the test.

If not I’ll just try to fly,

fly away, my love.

love poems
5

About the Creator

Celestia Morelle

When I write, I connect with a part of me that otherwise doesn’t exist. She’s a flame that I spend hundreds of thousands of words trying to grasp. I hope you feel her too when you’re reading. I turn the sirens voice into art, for she is me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.