Poets logo

Never Let Them See The Damage

A Poem

By Angel AdagioPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
Never Let Them See The Damage
Photo by John Noonan on Unsplash

I showed them the truth,

the darkest parts of my heart that I often fear would drive those I love away. It’s part of me and my story.

“Bring your walls down” they said. “I promise I won't run away in fear of you.”

So, I took off the makeup, rolled up my sleeves, and bared every part of me that I found ugly.

I showed my heart, all battered up and botched and brutalized from the years of torment,

but they broke their promise,

told me that it was all too much for them to bare.

And so I covered myself up again and made my vow to never let anyone ever see the damage done to me.

I shall cover my battle scars and bruises. I will be the image that everyone wants me to be.

The only one who will ever know my heart, is me. Every scar, every mark, every memory.

I shall let them live in their blissful ignorance for all eternity,

as long as I can never get hurt again.

Mental HealthStream of Consciousnessperformance poetry

About the Creator

Angel Adagio

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran6 months ago

    I've had the same happen to me. They wanted me to bare my soul, I did, and they left saying it's all too much although they promised the wouldn't. I hope you're okay. Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

Angel AdagioWritten by Angel Adagio

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.