Poets logo

Never for me

not a love to love

By Verawati CalmerPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

it was impossible not to love him

as there was this force

pushing me to him

but there was something else

keeping me on a distance

never believe what was happening

there was always this fear

the feeling of never being good enough

like I’ve always known

and I knew the same will be

when I was with him in the end

it will be impossible for him to love me

like I need to be loved

as was clear by the dedication

his son showed to me

despite all the admiration

he pulled back from me

not being able to ignore the attention

of the other women around him

they were known for him

they looked safe in his world

as I was always the broken spirit

that needed his comfort

they both showed me I could never

be like the women in their world

I couldn’t fall for their gazing eyes

I wasn’t that kind of woman

that will ever fall for the trap

caged in compliments and charm

They will never be mine

As they could never fulfill

my broken spirit

that is healed

with love

~Ivy's poems

by pherawaty

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Verawati Calmer

a prose, poetry and essay writer to create a new world of love, light and magic

sharing my most intimate writings coming from my deepest emotions and curiosities about heartbreaking experiences combined with messages of hope and love

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.