Poets logo

Never Again Be Mine

"I’ve got the song long, I’ll see ya, cause my Buick’s outside waitin' blues.” Tom Waits

By Michael C. Lafferty-ShockencyPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

You’ve shown me I don’t matter

With everything you do

And I’m just at that point

I don’t need a friend like you

You fought and fought to keep me

Your reason I can’t say

But when I need a friend

You ignore me anyway

I can see that You’ve moved on

There’s no one left to blame

You’ve shown how little I mean

guess it’s time to do the same

You’d think all those years

Would have meant a whole lot more

I was holding onto memories

You were walking out that door

So don’t go feeling sorry now

For all the things you never see

You left me there abandoned

You’d choose anyone but me

There I was just dying on the floor

You Didn’t care to help me up

But let’s demand that we stay friends

Like I was some whipped pup

Then you left me all alone

Like a dog that got too old

Nothing to hold onto

Just an old love turned cold.

You never did believe me

I was just your scape goat

And When you didn’t need me

Left me bleeding from the throat.

So let this be the last time

My Pen touches paper with your name

Seeing how it all played out

I could never feel the same

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Michael C. Lafferty-Shockency

The only thing I've done throughout my entire life is write, so thats what I'm doing!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.