Poets logo

Grandma's Lap

A Poem

By Mother CombsPublished 23 days ago 1 min read
12

There’s nothing like sitting in Grandma’s lap

While she reads stories from a children’s book

Cuddling up nice and close

Smelling the comforting odor of Gardenia

Listening dreamily as she speaks the words

And feeling her run a hand over your hair

From time to time

Knowing without a doubt how much you are loved

Drowsily rocking back and forth

Dreamily seeing the words in your imagination

Imagining you are a knight or princess

Fantasizing about dragons and fishes

Her words opening up so many new worlds

All while you sit in the small world of Grandma’s lap

fact or fictionFree VerseFamily
12

About the Creator

Mother Combs

Come near, sit a spell, and listen to tales of old as I sit and rock by my fire. I'll serve you some cocoa and cookies as I tell you of the time long gone by when your Greats-greats once lived.

Admin = ViM

PViM

Mike Judey Dharr Grz

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Denise E Lindquist22 days ago

    There is never enough time with Grandma. 💕 Everyone is so busy! Even with lots of children and grands it is never enough time. I do give children's books/movies of stories with values and teachings at certain times of the year. Then tell stories when I get the chance.

  • If such a great poem is not appreciated by someone, they will be hypocrites!

  • My grandma used to tell me a lot of bedtime stories when I was a kid. Now I don't remember most of those stories and there's no way of recovering them either because she told all the stories from her memory. Loved your poem!

  • Manisha Dhalani22 days ago

    Brings back memories. Lovely poem!

  • Carol Townend23 days ago

    This reminds me of the days when I used to sit with my gran and listen to stories. Now, at 47 years old, I have grandchildren, but one of them prefers looking at books rather than listening and reading stories.

  • JBaz23 days ago

    Beautifully written, an expression of love

  • Andrea Corwin 23 days ago

    The world of grandma’s lap - we all could hope for one such as this!! Too late for me, 😂😂 I loved your poem! 💕

  • Christy Munson23 days ago

    Sentimental and sweet but not too much so. Loved it. Makes me miss all of my grandmothers all the more.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.