Poets logo

Ndagukumbuye (I miss you)

Always remember the Rwandan genocide: Apr 7, 1994 – Jul 15, 1994

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished about a month ago 1 min read
Jeanne from the truly significant film Sometimes in April

writers eat me alive

they use me up like a wasted, slaughtered chicken
They use me up until a pretty picture is presented

Writers use me up like an artist’s toil
They wrap colors around a sea of blood

And Nina screams with fearful pain, “Mississippi Goddamn,” while Americans cry over their leftovers being not so sweet

agony in my blood, boiling over like the Red Sea, angry blood

Anger over your beautifully rendered art

As a babe falls over, a shot of darkness is captured on film,

You can feel the freeze of throbbing hell in the frame

The man as bad as the vulture that shot the dangerous dance of death

Does the picture bleed, as it cannot hear the cry

Cannot love

Cannot dream

Cannot be ripped away from a mother’s arms

I miss you, (but what did I miss?)

The pain you spilled over to

The agony you threw up as bad leftovers

The sadness of trauma that seethed like a crackling pan on the flame

The writer’s, they ate us all up inside

And said, “I miss you,”

With a snake tongue.

slam poetry

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos,

I am Bexley by Resurgence Novels

The Half Paper Moon on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella The Job and Atonement will be published this year by JMS Books

Carnivorous published by Eukalypto

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • JBaz29 days ago

    My very first story ever published on Vocal was in regards to Rwanda in 1993. It is something we tend to push out of sight and mind. But it needs to be revisited from time to time.

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Gosh, this was so devastating, intense and emotional! Loved your poem so much!

  • Nagoh Creative (Greg)about a month ago

    So raw. Bravo. 💫

  • angela hepworthabout a month ago

    The power of trauma is so strong. Phenomenal work encompassing emotion here.

  • Esala Gunathilakeabout a month ago

    A nice poem.

  • Kendall Defoe about a month ago

    This is impressive...and I think Ms. Simone would have something to say.

Melissa IngoldsbyWritten by Melissa Ingoldsby

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.