Poets logo

Nature vs. Nurture

Is there anything worse than being uptight?

By Caroline StahlPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

As a child, when I first became interested in beautiful things,

I begged my grandmother to let me stay

in the room she filled with China dolls

whose door was kept locked.

I was allowed in only with her by my side,

never permitted to run my hands across their lacy skirts

or stroke their rosy cheeks.

Finally, after years of begging

She left the room unlocked for me.

That night I couldn’t sleep

with their marble eyes fixated

on my every movement.

There is a certain tenseness

I noticed when laying out on her pea green carpet watching her sit

in a velvet armchair

back straight

jaw clenched

feet flat on the floor.

It flows down through generations,

manifesting in my own mother

who would swat my chubby fingers away from mirrors and picture frames

and anything else that could be smeared by my touch.

Sometimes, I feel it too.

An icy dagger in my spine

sternly whispering “that’s enough.”

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.