Poets logo

Nature's Morse Code

For Those Who Listen

By Jessica DowdingPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
First Place in 2023 Vocal Writing Awards - Haiku Poetry
31
Nature's Morse Code
Photo by Chandler Cruttenden on Unsplash

The snowflakes tap tap

On my old blue coat, a soft,

Private love poem.

nature poetry
31

About the Creator

Jessica Dowding

I have an overactive imagination and I really like petting dogs. I love using creative writing to dig into the small moments that make up humanity.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (26)

Sign in to comment
  • Christy Munson9 days ago

    Lovely! Places me in a moment, which is incredibly difficult to do with so few words. You've achieved mastery with this indelible poem.

  • Kristen Balyeat4 months ago

    SO beautiful! Loved this piece so much when I read it in the voting. Congrats on your win!

  • Linda Rivenbark4 months ago

    A beautiful word picture of the real experience of watching snowflakes fall on your body or clothes. I love this haiku. Congratulations on your win!!!

  • Daphsam4 months ago

    This is incredibly beautiful. So vivid the words that I can see it in my mind’s eye.

  • Jennifer Ashley4 months ago

    I love love LOVED your haiku - seriously probably the best one I've ever read. CONGRATS & extremely well-deserved.

  • Test4 months ago

    Congratulations! Keep up the great work!"

  • Shirley Belk4 months ago

    Congratulations!

  • Poppy 4 months ago

    BIG CONGRATULATIONS ON THE WIN!

  • Congratulations, Jessica! Still loving it.

  • Megan Anderson4 months ago

    Yay, my pick too!

  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    Congratulations!!!

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    Congrats on your beautiful and well-deserved win.

  • Mackenzie Davis4 months ago

    Congratulations on your win!!

  • Caroline Jane4 months ago

    Congratulations!!

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    Ooh lovely. Congratulations!

  • Ahna Lewis7 months ago

    This is beautiful! I will definitely think of this next time I am outside in the snow. 🥰

  • This felt so tender and soft! Beautiful ❤️🙏✨

  • Awww, a private love poem! That was so beautiful!

  • Dana Stewart7 months ago

    And after this summer I am looking forward to snow. Lovely poem.

  • Beautiful. I love the snow.

  • Poppy 7 months ago

    Hey, just letting you know I shared this poem in my story Poppy's Preferences: https://vocal.media/journal/poppy-s-preferences-pt-5

  • Poppy 7 months ago

    This is beautiful! really well written

  • Kristen Tejeraabout a year ago

    I love this!!!

  • Natalie Wilkinsonabout a year ago

    This is lovely.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.