Poets logo

Nature Is My Muse

I was asked my favorite place to write. There are many places I write in my mind.

By Matthew MccaheyPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 2 min read
14
Nature Is My Muse
Photo by Sergei Akulich on Unsplash

I write from a corner desktop aged and ragged

But my mind works elsewhere

Sounds of the forest, rain dripping down the leaves and the call of the birds

That is where I write, that is where I find inspiration

*

I imagine myself lounging in a chair outdoors listening to the wind softly by my ears

The wind-chimes echoing around me a sweet melody

Peace and serenity find me

They quiet my mind and free my hands

*

By Rebecca Matthews on Unsplash

My feet rustling through the sand on a secluded beach

The sun shining on my skin warming me ever so slightly

The ocean waves splashing gently in the distance

That is where my heart is

*

On a hill in a local park, I sit

The place I used to contemplate life and death now brings poetry

The place I cried and felt lost in life now brings hope

That is where my soul is

*

By Štefan Štefančík on Unsplash

I am in many places all at once when I write

Inspiration for my stories is found in the simple pleasures of my life

The things I often took for granted

Are the things I cherish the most

*

My hands know what they want to say

My heart feels the emotions on the page

My soul allows me freedom from the journey

Sometimes the words are painful to write

*

My hands tremble

My heart skips a beat

My soul yearns for more and struggles

But I let the words come anyways

That is where I write

Special thanks to Arpad Nargy for the challenge poem!

inspirational
14

About the Creator

Matthew Mccahey

I want to use stories and life experiences to allow others to be open about their own.

https://linktr.ee/Authormack729

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.