Poets logo

Palms Sweaty, Not Moms Spaghetti

In active addiction my life quickly went off the rails after abusing alcohol for years. I thought I was fine until I wasnt.

By Matthew MccaheyPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
12
Palms Sweaty, Not Moms Spaghetti
Photo by Homescreenify on Unsplash

Blackouts, sweaty palms, night terrors

Waking up wondering where I was

Confused how I got there

My mind spinning

*

I was hungover

Again

How could this happen?

Again?

*

I told myself I would stop

I thought I was stronger than the alcohol

But the alcohol fought dirty

I was always at a disadvantage

*

By Stormseeker on Unsplash

I was tired of the pain, the hangovers and the regrets

The one-night stands that filled the same black hole as booze

The destruction to my body was obvious to anyone around me

My bags under my eyes spoke volumes

*

I was scared and alone in the darkness

But in that darkness, I heard a whisper

I looked around everywhere to see a flicker of a light

I ran as fast as I could to follow that whisper

*

Before I knew it, I was in a room of unfamiliar faces with the same sweaty palms

Yet, they wore the same masks I wore

I could hear myself in their stories

I laughed for the first time in months

*

By Victoria Priessnitz on Unsplash

Alcohol no longer had the same grasp over me as it once did

I had found a place I finally belonged

I can remember where I am, where I've been, and what I did

Sleeping at night became easier, and I'm grateful

*

I found a way to live that wasn’t just surviving

I can smile, and laugh

Writing became smoother and natural

The promises are coming true

social commentary
12

About the Creator

Matthew Mccahey

I want to use stories and life experiences to allow others to be open about their own.

https://linktr.ee/Authormack729

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.