Poets logo

Fleeting Love

Love was something that was always out of reach for me. It could be seen and felt but never grasped

By Matthew MccaheyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
5
Fleeting Love
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

Love

Love was fleeting

Ephemeral

The moment I reached for it

It disappeared right before my eyes

*

I never understood why

Why I wasn’t enough

Why communication failed on both sides

Why I gave only to be taken advantage of

*

Love does exist and I know this

I am enough, always have been

Nothing was going to change them or their minds

I wasn’t perfect either

Sometimes I took more than I had to give

*

By Jamez Picard on Unsplash

I feared losing them more than I cared to admit

I worked from a mindset of fear and loss

Rather than a mindset of abundance

Love is abundant and fear squeezes the life out of Love

Love wasn’t running from me, but rather my mindset

*

That was a hard lesson to learn

To the right person I will always be enough

To the wrong people it never mattered what I did

Losing them didn’t cause me as much pain as the fear did

*

By Vivek Doshi on Unsplash

I have to let love come freely

Because it is like a butterfly in the breeze

Floating by with not a care in the world

Free, and wild

Trying to control, contain, or change love made it run

So, I will sit and wait for that butterfly to come to me

One day It will land on me

On that day I'll know I no longer fear losing love

heartbreak
5

About the Creator

Matthew Mccahey

I want to use stories and life experiences to allow others to be open about their own.

https://linktr.ee/Authormack729

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.