Poets logo

Name The Stars

A Photograph

By Sophie ColettePublished 10 months ago 1 min read
Like
Name The Stars
Photo by Taisiia Shestopal on Unsplash

You are not a Friday night.

This is what I want to blurt, sometimes, when I’m trying to explain

the way I’m feeling

in this season of the story

of you and I.

I won’t say it that way, because god,

my darling:

the electricity of you. The ever-present

pulse of fire.

This is what I mean about accuracy,

the way I’ve started twenty-four poems about you,

scrapped every last one, out of

anger at the word, the way

the feeling comes from me chewed and gasping, an orgasm,

a prayer. Metabolized and holy and violent,

the rigor of its need

a loop of scars crouched in my tired heart.

The question of deserve and the answer of irrelevant and yes and yes.

You are a Sunday morning,

just after the sunrise,

when I love to sleep but I love to look at you sleeping

more.

You are bare feet and fresh coffee, any mask of makeup

long gone,

me and you kissing slow and tender in the sun-drenched sheets,

saying mmm hi beautiful.

how were your dreams?

into each other’s mouths.

You are a true thing –

the truest.

The silky ripple of your body against mine,

our nakedness braided with sweat. The joy of you,

the earth, the sugar,

the reeling stars.

I will love every iteration of us,

my magic girl.

Even if those same stars come crashing down from their dance,

if the pleasure proves too frightening,

if I am afraid, or you –

I will shut my eyes, say:

thank you,

thank you.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Sophie Colette

She/her. Queer witchy tanguera writing about the loves of my life, old and new. Obsessed with functional analytic psychotherapy & art in service to revolution. Occasionally writing under the name Joanna Byrne.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.