Poets logo

Always The Wonder

for Rob

By Sophie ColettePublished 10 months ago 1 min read
2
Always The Wonder
Photo by Terrance Raper on Unsplash

I hope you’re laughing,

wherever you are.

I hope that the sun is warm on you

and that the light is getting in.

I’m having dreams about your face. About your children.

About everyone you left behind.

My rage wakes me sobbing, my corporeal body weak –

and you, somehow bodiless.

They say you are part of the magnificent unknowable, now;

an angel,

the protector of us all.

All I know is this:

I would give anything to meet you again

for the first time,

children on a bus through a hot and starless Memphis night,

your big smile and that laugh,

the one ringing through the hallways of my sleep,

the one that disarms my rage even now.

I would give anything to be children on the phone together,

our parents’ landlines memorized,

you telling me,

arrogant and joyful, that

we’d live forever.

I hope you’re dancing,

wherever you are.

I hope you’re waiting for me in a studio somewhere,

your arms tracing port de bras as you stand at a barre in your socks,

the joy never having gone out of it,

the light eternal,

the embrace of that magnificent unknowable

careening around you.

I hope that when it’s time,

I will walk up behind you and wrap my arms around you

and that your smell will be the same. We’ll talk

like children again,

about beauty and violence and wonder,

always

the wonder.

surreal poetrysad poetry
2

About the Creator

Sophie Colette

She/her. Queer witchy tanguera writing about the loves of my life, old and new. Obsessed with functional analytic psychotherapy & art in service to revolution. Occasionally writing under the name Joanna Byrne.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Genie OooFuzzy10 months ago

    I both hate and love your surrender. I think everyone wants to think of themselves as someone who can go out and get love. Love is something that happens and is happening to you. Thank you for reminding Me it's OK that the beautiful thing is happening to me. I can appreciate it both for the splendour of its presence and the dull phantom pain of a part of my heart missing. The place was never the same because you walked in, and its not the same without you, now. Why would i ever want it to be? Arrogant to think i could control something that powerful. Id like to say id walk up and hug them too, but im a chicken. thank you, Sophie.

  • Test10 months ago

    Wow. This is really good. "always the wonder"... a very profound poem 💙Anneliese

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.