Poets logo

My weird running experience as a beginner

My awkward running experience

By Siyabulela MchilaPublished about a month ago 2 min read
Like

I am not sure if I qualify to call myself an athlete or a runner yet because this is the third month I’ve been running and doing some workouts. I don’t want to lie, I wish I have never started! Sore muscles and foot pains like an old man. I keep asking myself “Why do I run?” To be honest, I am really not sure, I saw people running and thought that was an amazing thing to do, let me go for it! Well, it could be that, or it could not. At least I am getting used to it.

I sometimes get these weird vibes or feelings when I jog or doing workouts. I would feel like people are watching my every move. It makes me feel like they are throwing nasty comments about “how big I am to run.” I also feel like they are comparing my paces and see me as a slow runner ever! Well, I know they are wrong because I sometimes dream about running a lot in my sleep. I always dream about my next run and how I take a lead. The following day, weird vibes would keep showing up. I would come across an awkward moment where I would start taking a video of myself while running, just for my TikTok content. When I notice people are watching, I would pretend I’m in a video call and ending up talking to myself. Strange, hey?

During my morning runs, suddenly when I’m out of breath while running and a pretty lady is passing next to me, I get silent until she passes. I can’t risk being a laughing stock. I sometimes ask myself, am I being normal? or I should just accept that all beginners have the same experience?. When I run and see cars not stopping at stopping sign, I pretend to get annoyed, while in reality I’m glad that I got a little rest. Then I would keep up a little bit of pace to recover the delay. To be honest, I do all this for nothing, because I think nobody is watching.

Recently, I have decided to download a running app just to compare my paces you know. I think I am getting fond of this running thing, but still I’m getting weird vibes or feelings. Yesterday I became upset and shouted out loud because I forgot to press record for the timer to detect my distance. The other runner looked at me as if I was belonging to an asylum, then shook his head and kept running. What was I supposed to do? That whole running meant nothing, it didn’t count to me!

For Funhumor
Like

About the Creator

Siyabulela Mchila

These are fictional stories and non fiction articles. I make sure you laugh at least a little or to chuckle while reading. Enjoy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.