Poets logo

My urban forest

I walk and come back to a ‘different place’

By Pauline FountainPublished 8 months ago Updated 27 days ago 2 min read
Top Story - August 2023
20
[ Image : Pauline Fountain ]

On my first morning walk after I moved from Banyo to Fitzgibbon, I took my journal to begin mapping my new terrain.

My intension?

Navigation and documenting observations of moments along the way.

*

But it seems the magpie’s call had other plans.

They guided me to a different approach to the undiscovered.

I found an urban forest nestled within my suburb.

*

I walked around the meandering paths and collected small nature tokens.

Flowering Eucalyptus gum nuts or the rough weathered husks of those fallen to the ground.

Leaves of varying shapes and colours; depending on the season and cycle of growth.

A cluster of orange berries.

Paper bark. Stripped from the tree. Layered and velvet to the touch.

Grevillea flowers where lorikeets sup on the sweet nectar.

*

With each I add to a platter at home. I treasure my tokens of achievement.

On the following day, my collection reminds me of what I was able to achieve yesterday, regardless of my mood.

My nature tokens encourage me that I too can venture out once again on a daily walk, even if engulfed and gripped by panic or the black molasses of Bipolar 1 Depression.

*

When I go for a walk, I take mindfulness photos of trees and other natural formations.

Of flowers and foliage.

Lichen on rock formations.

Native Australian ornamental grasses lining wooden fences.

The creek bed; dry or flowing.

*

When I go for a walk, I take mindfulness photos of the man made.

The paths and cross bridges.

The children’s playground with a xylophone; made of hollow aluminium fence posts.

*

My photographs capture points along the way.

They remind me of a specific time and place. There, for later reference.

A reminder of the emotional release gained when I am nurtured by nature.

*

I have no need to venture afar.

Now that I have discovered an urban forest nestled within my suburb.

*

When I go for a walk, I take endless photos of the sky.

Overcast or not.

More so than the tree tops swaying in the breeze.

Above all. The sky grounds me.

*

When I go for a walk, I come back to a ‘different place.’

I return with a soul nourished.

Breathing.

Free from anxiety.

*

When I go for a walk, I come back to a ‘different place.’

I return with a ‘sky mind.’

• Dedicated to Breanna Walker •

[ Image : Pauline Fountain ]

[ Image : Pauline Fountain ]

[ Image : Pauline Fountain ]

[ Image : Pauline Fountain ]

[ Image : Pauline Fountain ]

[ Image : Pauline Fountain ]

[ Image: Pauline Fountain ]

[ Image : Pauline Fountain ]

[ Image : Pauline Fountain ]

[ image : Pauline Fountain ]

[ image : Pauline Fountain ]

.[ Image : Pauline Fountain ]

[ Image : Pauline Fountain ]

[ Image : Pauline Fountain ]

[ Image : Pauline Fountain ]

[ Image : Pauline Fountain ]

Pauline Fountain. © 2023. All rights reserved. No part of this work may be used or reproduced without the written permission of the author.

nature poetryinspirational
20

About the Creator

Pauline Fountain

Writing and photography provide a creative outlet to reflect with meaning on my life.

My mental health? Bipolar 1 (Rapid Cycling), Complex PTSD and Functional Neurological Disorder.

My son’s gentle wisdom furnishes me with the gift of hope.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • Jay Kantor19 days ago

    Dear Pauline - As I scroll through your (50+) stories I just can't resist commenting. Your 'Original' words and gorgeous photos among the VillageBucket 'Snippers/with Sharp Scissors' is so refreshing to me; so glad to meet you. Within my Pro Bono lectures re; Biz Law. My biggest concern is for the youngins to review torts as them - not what others expect them to - everything is subject to interpretation there; and here as Authors as well. I hope you take a moment to scroll through my 50ish stories - you may find a very 'Sarcastic,' Jay. Fun for me in retirement, nothing more. Thanks for the learnin' re; Australia ~ So nice that the VM platform takes us all over the globe. j.in.l.a.

  • Gena Adamson26 days ago

    I absolutely love it 😭 🥰 I love the beauty you capture in nature! This is very healing and inspiring to take more simple walks 💞

  • Grz Colm27 days ago

    Much skilled photography in there!! This is quite inspiring.. as I’m not walking much again, but when I do I always feel better..mentally and physically. I really responded to the mindfulness and sensory language of your piece Pauline!

  • Rachel Deeming8 months ago

    "I return with a 'sky mind'" which grounds you. I love the idea of this. How can the sky ground you? And yet, I get it. And such wonderful pictures of nature and your findings. Congrats on a well deserved TS!

  • Hey Pauline, so good to have you back! Your poem and photos are so stunning! Congratulations on your Top Story!

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Great! And wonderful photos!

  • Mattie :)8 months ago

    Beautiful photos, Pauline! Love to visit Australia someday.

  • Tiffany Gordon 8 months ago

    Beautiful & Inspiring work! Congrats on your TOP STORY!

  • L.C. Schäfer8 months ago

    "The sky grounds me" I love it :)

  • L.C. Schäfer8 months ago

    You've been gone a little while, I hoped you were OK 👍

  • Brenton F8 months ago

    Your words and your photos take this piece above and beyond - love the gums and their flowers!

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Brilliant, bold & beautiful!!! Love this!!!

  • Pauline... this is absolutely serene and beautiful. I am so glad you have found your place of solace. Thank you for sharing it with us!!!

  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    Photos are gorgeous. Love your article.

  • Rebekah Crawley8 months ago

    Beautiful words and stunning pictures 🤍

  • River Joy8 months ago

    I love this and your photos, it's true we can find beauty in things that we thought were familiar if we look at them differently. Really beautiful piece.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.