Poets logo

My True Colors

Wait! What?

By Natalie MarinoPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

So you think I am the color you see?

But that is not who I may be.

First my skin looks black, but then its white.

it is not that I change within your sight...

It is just that my true colors are deep within

and the real color is not in my skin.

My heart is filled with so much love

that rainbows pale in contrast from above.

Colors would not exist without me

and it is crowding out my thoughts, so you see.

My brain is jumping with colors so bright,

people are brown and yellow ,black and white.

You say that's too weird but you are not right!

Because, for me, there is no other way thru the night,

except to encompass all the colors of people that be

and to let myself and others be free.

Long before this, I was tied to my destiny

down trodden and poor, it nearly drove me mad.

But I struggled out of the quagmire and refused to be sad.

I picked myself up, like they say, by my boot strap,

I tried every way to get rid of the old crap

with which people had shoved into my mind.

I chose to see reality and not let the color of skin make me blind.

Not all groups are alike. We are all individuals

Each person is different and not the same kind

as everyone else from that cultural brand.

It was time for me to make my memorable stand.

I met each person as they were a unique soul.

Loving and giving became my only goal.

And soon my compassion for anything different

led me to a love affair with a romantic liasion,

with one of "the others" in deep anticipation.

He was the one I was sure that forever I would love.

So I prayed for the best and beseached Him up above.

And then it happened, I gave birth to a child

A bi racial baby ... It was really wild!

Together we went up against all the muddle

and wound up completely on top of the puddle.

People would come and beseach me for direction.

I could only smile and point them to perfection.

Of course no one would ever reach that unblemished state.

But at least their road was in opposition to the hate.

I soon became an international legend,

who produced a child who in turn produced the adults.

You see that this child was not the color of one

but was a combination and he was my son!

Soon the children grew up and started to follow.

Not one or two but many soon wallowed

in mixing the population till no one remained

a single color and no one complained.

We were all different and identical in many ways.

Our true colors were hidden and difficult to uncover.

We had to love and strive to understand each one to discover

their innermost traits and their souls that are hidden away.

Because that is where all the colors are burried to stay.

But once they are found it is not hard to see

that they are all mixed and quite lovely they be.

The people are no longer in groups divided

by simple things like colors or origin.

The only things that separate is ideology.

And we have learned to accept psyche over physical biology.

So this is my story and I hope it rings true

because this is the world that I wish for you too.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.