Poets logo

MY SUN

Like the sun

By Eastern TwelvePublished 3 months ago 1 min read
2
Source: Eastern_twelve


It's late morning and the sun and I are out

Playing our role in ensuring its day

I close my eyes to hear my music better

Angle my face up ....to salute my kin

The warmth and light hit every pore I block in the name of skincare

My eyes are closed but I see no darkness

'I've felt this before,' I think

My mind runs wide craving to compare

Whatever felt like the sun kissing my face is as natural as blinking

I sign, I think too much ...

Regardless I give in and replay the memory

I'm sleeping by the flames hugging my knees

I'm not really sleeping, neither I'm I pretending to be asleep

I feel you watching me from every angle

I feel you stand guard against all the nightmares

I see safety and light behind my eyes

I'm convinced that I can sleep but...

Does it even matter?

I dream about you when I sleep and think about you when I wake

'Unbelievable!' They will shout

If I dare say that on shallow waters

' Do you know them? ' They will ask

If I dare mention you to cumulus cloud

But the Unbelievable is my sign of ownership and all I do not know is a form of hope

I guess I liken you to the sun a lot

Finding every possible metaphor

A reason to make you the center of my every waking moment

A reason to justify why I'm scared of the dark, why I choose to sleep

I need to justify why I revolve around you

For reason creates purpose and purpose propels living

So then I'll live for you

performance poetrysurreal poetrynature poetrylove poems
2

About the Creator

Eastern Twelve

Apricity

It's a definate 12!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • LordConejoh 3 months ago

    Love this ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.