Poets logo

My skin

Is not to be confused with darkness

By UNpretentiousPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Black Lives Matter protest

My skin is angel dust,

I am down for my family,

I am uplifting my friends,

I am becoming wiser,

And I will no longer hold it in,

My skin is proud,

Because even when no one else is around,

I know my actions will stay true,

I don’t need an audience to show my grace,

I don’t need to appeal to a race I don’t believe in,

I don’t need to hold my tongue to keep from offending someone,

Because my skin is the light in the dark,

The place you forgot I came from,

My brown skin is not to be mistaken by a shade of darkness,

But if you’d like to compare me to that just know,

A lot of beautiful things are born in the dark,

And then they find their way to the light,

Do not be afraid of me,

Because my skin is not to be seen as a weapon,

It is the strength of generations I carry on my back,

My skin is not to be seen as a crutch,

It is a visual reminder for you to know,

That even when I don’t have much,

I am still giving to my brothers and sisters,

To help them get back up,

So I am not just trying harder than you for myself,

But so that I can help my family stand on their feet with me,

Even with all the challenges that comes with being black in America,

My skin is not to be seen as ugly,

Because it is fueled by the same sun it glistens in,

My skin is my pride,

My skin is something I’m happy to live in,

Your hatred towards my skin,

Is fueled by the reminder that my ancestors fought against the injustices your ancestors inflicted on us and won,

And they won with peace,

So your angry because all you know is war,

And playing with your guns as if they are toys,

But we came from a place,

Where our words were threatening,

And Our knowledge was a weapon,

And since we’ve learned those things,

Our progress can never be undone,

My skin is the melody of your most hated song,

Listen to it enough and you’ll find yourself humming with us,

Ignore it and you’ll always say you hate tune,

But your reason why, will never be enough.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

UNpretentious

I choose empathy over sympathy, because I am a problem solver. I’m a dreamer, that wants to be able to help others Grow, Evolve and Dream big safely. BOSS Mentality. Poetic Flow. Unconditional Lover. Artisan & Server Spirit. INFP, thats me!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.