Poets logo

My Self-Image

A Poem from the Past

By Therese WalshPublished 7 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by Enrico Carcasci on Unsplash

I put on this self-image,

Whenever I'm around,

It's smart and superficial

not showing inside the frown

that grows, increasing at each moment.

I walk through various places,

treasuring two-somes.

Intimidating groups,

they do not know,

That what I wear is merely a frivolous frock on top of

my self image...

But now my new self-image,

Whenever I'm around,

Is quiet and anxious,

yet showing a inner strength,

that grows, with each line of the story.

I walk through my daily routine,

treasuring those around me.

Familiar faces,

Now do they know,

That what I have is more than a frivolous frock of self image.

But hope.

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Therese Walsh

Anthropologist, book worm, general geek and nerd with a passion for all things writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.