Poets logo

My Own Hell

Emotionally charged but the feeling is always the same...

By A. NguyenPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
1
My Own Hell
Photo by M. on Unsplash

How long will it take for someone

to take this outstretched hand?

Hear the silent crying

or see the cracks in the facade...

anything. Its tiring

having to claw my way out

alone, every time.

My throat is dry, fingers raw,

nails bleeding and leaving

a heavy metallic smell in the air

mixed with the earthy musk

of the ground trying to eat me up.

.

When is it time to rest and for once

not needing to check my back or exist

on the edge of my seat constantly

just waiting for something to hit me,

like it always does. Unpredictable

can be predicted if you simply believe

both everything and nothing will strike.

.

Life is full of people yet here I am

still alone, smiling like the fool.

Are these chains invisible?

Can no one see the shackles

and the red marks they leave behind?

Do I not look insane with my hands

wrapped around my own neck?

Are those my hands?

Are they really there?

Am I actually losing my mind,

after being so alone for so long?

Trapped in my own personal hell,

filled with people and yet no one notices.

Never alone but always lonely.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

A. Nguyen

A writer at heart who wants to share my works. I want to evoke emotion in people when they read my writing but I won't ever know if I can, if I don't put anything out into the world so this is my first step :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran6 months ago

    This was so sad, poignant and relatable as well. I loved it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.