Poets logo

My Mother

I carry her in my heart as she carried me in her arms

By Adam EvansonPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 2 min read
My Mother
Photo by huanshi on Unsplash

The leaves are turning gold and the year is getting old. All the birds are getting ready to leave. With all this Asian humidity I can hardly breathe.

The sun is up above the clouds that cloak the morning, an autumn shroud.

It provides an awning for the last of the summer crowd.

My mother used to say it was a warning, a yearning, and a yawning, that nature was calling out loud to all of those in inclement weather bowed.

I miss her at this time of year, her hair, her eyes, her ears, her fears. Because like the birds that cry in the sky, heading south to follow the sun, she knew her time was near.

Her last words were she didn’t want to go, but neither did she want to stay.

That feeling haunts me now blow by blow and will haunt me to my dying day.

Caught between two distant stools, a house full of impossible fools. No kindness in their hearts, just cruelty.

Seasons going from hot to cool, she was more than they deserved

She truly was tremendous fun and at times could be quite reserved.

Tis a pity that she’s gone.

I miss her laughter her awesome food, and her tender touch that felt so good

When in times of need, if she could, she would give you her last penny.

I would give the world to have her back, to see her smile and her happy knack to make my life complete with laughter, lemonade and homemade scones a plenty.

It’s been some years now since she’s been gone and I’m feeling lost and all alone. Though I know I still carry her in my heart.

Yet still, it feels like something is missing

I’m wan and it tears my heart apart.

I loved my mum like any loving son and I know for her I must go on. And the day will come when we will be one. And in that way, we will live on and on and on and on.

And we shall rest in a shady glade, down by a river that the angels made.

Sat upon a beautiful Irish tartan plaid, where once she and my father played. Where she and my father loving made, to the sound of a flute for a pretty maid, as the plants and the trees softly swayed.

And never, ever will that picture fade

It will last forever and ever un-grayed

the Elysian Fields forever rays

With the summer sunlit gardens

Lighting up our forever days.

heartbreak

About the Creator

Adam Evanson

I Am...whatever you make of me.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran9 months ago

    I'm so sorry for your loss 🥺 This was a wonderful tribute to her

  • 💔🤍🙏

Adam EvansonWritten by Adam Evanson

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.