Poets logo

My Moonshadow Mistress

Loving Against the Odds

By Geoffrey Philp Published 4 months ago 1 min read

Every time I've left with a change of clothes, you've said,

"Come home, baby. This time, it'll be different."

Lunacy, my friends said, this longing, while you remained

Indifferent as the moon on a winter night to my

Pleas, my desperate texts, begging you not to

Share our love--yet you did—and I've returned

Every time. For I'll always believe your lies.

sad poetrylove poems

About the Creator

Geoffrey Philp

I am a Jamaican writer. I write poems (haiku & haibun), stories & essays about climate change, Marcus Garvey, music icons such as Bob Marley, and the craft of writing. For more info, visit my webpage: https://www.geoffreyphilp.com/

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Andrea Corwin 11 days ago

    Sad and tense.

  • The Dani Writer3 months ago

    Haunting! Easy-flowing and plausible with an expert touch.

  • Christy Munson4 months ago

    You've given your readers a lovely one here. The loneliness is palpable. I love how this piece could be interpreted in so many ways. There is both a sturdiness and an open, vastness that I appreciate. Wonderful piece.

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    Beautiful but quite sad.

  • Mariann Carroll4 months ago

    So sad, we all have been deceived by love . Excellent poetry

Geoffrey Philp Written by Geoffrey Philp

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.