Poets logo

My Love, I Would...

A Poem About Promises

By Michelle Truman | Prose and Puns | Noyath BooksPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
4
My Love, I Would...
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

You see, my love,

I would like to promise you

A love

That would last forever.

A world where you would hurt

No more.

A haven in my arms.

I would like to promise you

A life

That would be easy forever.

Dreams in a soft bed, from which you would run

No more.

Warm nights in my arms.

I would like to promise you

All of this,

And much more.

But

I'm afraid,

I'm merely human.

As are you.

Forever

Is beyond my grasp.

The painless world,

Just out of my reach.

Easy Street is closed for construction,

So we'll have to take the long way around.

Mattresses can be hard,

And nights will remain cold whether we wish them away,

Or not.

And I fear,

My dear,

That I cannot stop your nightmares.

Some will slip through the dream catcher.

But I can promise

To be there to hold you when they do.

I can promise to give you a safer place,

To escape to when the road gets rough.

I can promise you to soothe your pain

When it welcomes itself to your life.

I can promise to love you

As long as I live.

It may not be forever,

But it's as long as I have to offer.

Most importantly,

I can promise to you

The words upon this page,

My mind,

My art,

My heart,

My soul.

My love,

And my lust

In return

For yours.

My good,

My bad,

My better and my worse.

My you.

Your me.

You're mine,

And all of me,

All of mine,

Is yours.

love poems
4

About the Creator

Michelle Truman | Prose and Puns | Noyath Books

I fell in love with speculative fiction and poetry many years ago, but I have precious little time to write any. It was high time I started making Prose and Puns a priority, starting with Purple Poetry, Auqredis, and the World of Noyath.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Denise E Lindquist2 years ago

    Thank you for sharing.💕

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    This is a beautiful piece.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.