Poets logo

my home

my love

By Georgianna NielsonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

I sold my parent’s home, where I grew, and laughed, and loved so much

to move across the water and do something scary and uncomfortable.

March through August was a state of transit;

floating

and searching

and waiting

and hoping.

I wanted a home that was warm and safe.

a place that inspired me and held me.

a space I could feel free and passionate in.

a safe home to grow, and laugh and love in.

In September, my home became real and tangible and it is mine to love.

my love is up on a hill;

there always seems to be a chilly breeze.

I get a familiar sense that I’ve lived here before, perhaps in another life.

There is an Asian pear tree in the back,

and a colored stained glass window that fills my walk up the creaking stairs with light and rainbows.

There is a neighbor that plays the violin with the window open during the day;

I like to think they are playing for me.

There is a large stone patio where I enjoy drinking my morning(or afternoon, or evening...) coffee,

and an open rooftop where I enjoy drinking my chamomile tea at night.

There is a room with a piano,

and a room with many plants,

and a room with a wall of mirrors

and a closet full of long wool coats.

I sleep up on the second floor,

in the lavender room.

I feel held.

I feel safe.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Georgianna Nielson

Instagram: @georgienielson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.