Poets logo

My Home Is a Lonely Heart

A poem

By Rajesh VairapandianPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1
Image by Nora Vellinga from Pixabay

A place where I'm loved unconditionally

A place where I can leave my worries in my past

A place I always wanted to be when I was out on the street

It's something that I dream of

When I'm feeling scared, it's always there

And when I feel like I'm not enough, home is where I turn

It's in my mind, in my soul

The place in which I reside in

And when I close my eyes

I know where I'll find it

When I go back to find it

I'll go back home

My home is a lonely heart

It's a soul that's been dead and alive

Sweet and dark and torn

Left to wander lost on this earth

It's a lasting power that I know is meant for me

No matter where I am or what I am going through

The words go deep within

these walls of chrome and stone

Every time I come back to my home

I'm reminded of how it all began

Every time I walk through my door

I'm reminded of how it all changed

The thing about home

Is that it's never one or two voices

It's the sounds of all the beings I've ever loved

It's the smells of everything they cooked

And even though I'm not there physically

Spirit is always with me

Where is my home?

Where is my true place?

I long for an answer to free me

But I can't find one, I don't know why

I'll stand tall today, yeah

This place isn't my home,

no it's not my home

I had a cozy, cozy nest

The joy of waking up where I belong

All of my memories, make me smile

I'm the happiest I know

So recently I began to wonder

What does "home" mean to me?

Like maybe I was born here,

And this is my home,

And so these are my memories,

But having moved away,

I'm just not the same.

The scariest part is not knowing

What makes this place home.

I think it means a lot of different things.

It means my favorite person,

and the person that will always be there for me.

It means comfort and familiarity,

and not having to worry about running away.

It means security and would know you no matter who you are.

It is a place where I can relax and not worry about the world.

It's a place to go to find comfort,

A place to hold tight,

A place to laugh and cry.

It's a place I can always come back to,

And always be me.

nature poetry
1

About the Creator

Rajesh Vairapandian

Poet, Writer, Amazon Best Selling Author, Life Coach(https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCUKBx7MnTXBhOE6xjSOFf0Q/?sub_confirmation=1) & a Magical Soul :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.