Poets logo

My Heart Weeps

How do I say goodbye

By Colleen Millsteed Published 15 days ago 1 min read
Image courtesy of Pixabay

My heart weeps with the very thought,

Tears pool to drown its beat,

Fissures tear the pain wide open,

As hours turn up the heat.

**

My chest aches at the upcoming goodbye,

My fear intensified for not one but two,

Not knowing the future possibilities hits home hard,

Understanding it could be the end is due.

**

How to block off the rearview mirror,

Letting go as I drive the highway,

Leaving to follow dreams that I must do solo,

Doesn’t let out all I wish I could say.

**

The weeks cascade into the now,

I wish to crawl into your heart and forever hide,

I fear I cannot leave you behind,

Wanting nothing more than to keep you by my side.

**

I’m trying to trust you’ll do just fine,

You’re certainly confident enough for us both,

But not knowing what tomorrow will bring,

Kills me in a way I absolutely loath.

**

I’ve not been alone for so very long,

Because you’ve always been tethered to my soul,

To make the decision to leave you here,

Leaves my heart with a gaping hole.

**

I will drive away soon with tears flowing,

Filled with determination to make the most of each day,

I will live the rest of my life to its fullest,

But that heartbreaking goodbye is the hardest word I’ll say.

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Please visit my website if you'd like more information on my published book, Battle Angel : The Ultimate She Warrior.

Originally published on Medium

heartbreaksad poetry

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Cathy holmes15 days ago

    Aww. That is so sad.

  • So poignant and loved your heartbreaking poem!

  • Gosh this was so emotional. Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

  • Babs Iverson15 days ago

    The start of a new adventure the heart is filled with mixed emotions. ❤️❤️💕

Colleen Millsteed Written by Colleen Millsteed

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.