Poets logo

A Thank You That Spans The Years

From my heart to yours anomalously

By Colleen Millsteed Published 19 days ago 1 min read
Image courtesy of Pixabay

Hello, how’s your day going?

Did you wake with a smile upon your face?

Memories relived of absolute perfection,

Happiness restored if only for those few precious minutes,

Of a lifetime ago.

**

Did you remember?

Did I cross your mind?

Those first thoughts as you opened your eyes,

A monumental date; or did I slip through the cracks?

**

The sky so blue it’s got to give you an inkling,

A whisper of a breeze blowing the cobwebs from your mind,

A chest bursting with happiness, lungs expelling their screams,

Mixed blessings in a little touch of paradise,

A life lived in those precious minutes; sustaining a lifetime.

**

Joy like no other,

Hearts full of love,

One day of a preciousness most never know,

Ours forever!

**

The years have blown us wide apart,

Leaving us wondering, possibilities snuffed from existence,

Short and sweet, but leaving no room for regrets,

Would you do it all over again?

Because I definitely would.

**

To live the decades lost,

Knowing the lessons we’d need to learn,

Days not years were all we were gifted,

Worthy of the sacrifice in pain.

**

I woke with a smile,

My heart filled to the brim with love,

No remorse; instant gratitude,

A gift I have treasured throughout the years,

The grief of loss, although knowing how lucky we truly were.

**

Blessed, truly blessed,

Gifted in a way of the very few,

Proud of the title bestowed upon me,

Honouring you in a way you’re destined never to understand.

**

Hello, how’s your day been?

Filled with all that once was?

Do you feel me? Feel my gratitude?

Knowing you live on in a heart of forgiveness,

Lucky to have experienced a lifetime in a few short perfect days.

If you like this Poem, why not check out my latest book, published on 30 May 2024.

Looking for a teaser to whet your appetite? Look no further than the link below :

Keep up to date on my website if you'd like to know more.

Pre-order your copy via the link below.

Originally published on Medium

inspirationalGratitude

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran18 days ago

    This was written so beautiful my friend!

Colleen Millsteed Written by Colleen Millsteed

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.