Poets logo

My heart is on a sinking ship

I'm not sure I like writing poetry. Thanks Linda Ronstadt for some inspiration

By Phil FlanneryPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
10
Arlington Park, Dulwich Hill

They say home is where the heart is

And if that’s to believed

Then I’m homeless now, and I have been

Since the day I watched you leave

I had given you my heart

that once upon our time

And I desperately held on to yours

I guess love can make you blind

When we met, I thought I knew

That our fates were meant to cross

And our paths converged with commonness

My loneliness was lost

Perhaps we were too different

We should have seen it at the start

I still wonder how I captured

Such a wild and beautiful heart

Then came the day you told me

what you wanted for your life

Who am I told hold you back?

Even if you are my wife

Now when sleep comes, I dream of us

Of things that used to be

Of the future I had planned for us

One I thought was guaranteed

Then it changes to a hurricane

With wind and rain and fury

I am on a boat and struggling

The elements, my judge and jury

I wonder, should I have let you go

Did I even have a choice?

Oh what I wouldn’t give to hear

Your wise and steady voice

Then the dream is coming to an end

I see you standing on the shore

You no longer hold my heart

While I still cling to yours

The image fades, the sun comes up

Time to face another day

The terrifying tedium

Of the boring working day

But I see the papers lying there

Weighed down heavy with my pen

A simple scribbled signature

To bring us to an end

And now looking back to how we were

As I sit here in dismay

I knew I couldn’t go with you

And I couldn’t make you stay

There is nothing more that I can do

Time to move on with my life

I smile just knowing for a while

That you were once my wife

heartbreak
10

About the Creator

Phil Flannery

Damn it, I'm 61 now, which means I'm into my fourth year on Vocal, I have an interesting collection of stories. I love the Challenges and enter, when I can, but this has become a lovely hobby.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Mackenzie Davis9 months ago

    I think you just broke my heart. "I still wonder how I captured Such a wild and beautiful heart Then came the day you told me what you wanted for your life Who am I told hold you back? Even if you are my wife" So well composed, Phil, and so so sad. Your every word brings such pain and honesty, that I really don't think I can add much more, except to say that I'm terribly sorry if this is a true account, and I think you captured it so poignantly.

  • C. H. Richard10 months ago

    Very heartfelt and raw with emotion ❤️ Loved this line " The elements my judge and jury."

  • Chloe Gilholy10 months ago

    Found this on Deep Cuts, can see why Paul picked it. It’s beautiful

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    I enjoyed rereading this today, Phil. I've been there twice, for different reasons, and you've done a great job of expressing the sense of loss.

  • We never got married (or divorced), but I feel this one deeply, Phil.

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    Oh my. So sad, yet beautifully written.

  • Sara Wilson10 months ago

    Oh my goodness this is so good but so sad. 🩷 I could feel the heartbreak in every line.

  • Paul Stewart10 months ago

    This is heartbreaking, Phil, but expressed so well. Well done!

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Heartbreaking!!! 💖💕

  • Dana Crandellabout a year ago

    Very well expressed.

  • Nice words, thank you for sharing

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.