Poets logo

My Greatest Fear

My greatest fear was having a daughter

By Angel Friesen Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

My greatest fear was having a daughter.

When I learned that I would be having a baby girl, I cried.

But not for the reason some mother’s do.

I cried because I felt like by bringing a girl into the world, I was cursing her.

It would be my fault for bringing her into a world where she would be preyed upon.

One in four girls are sexually assaulted.

And those are just the ones that get reported.

She would be entering a world where she will be constantly underestimated, and ignored.

Every man who approaches her will cause my muscles to clench.

Having a girl meant one day I will have to feel my heart drop.

Past the floorboards, while she tells me what he did to her.

The world is a scary place, and I just want my girl to be safe.

I’ll do everything I can to make her strong.

From books to martial arts, she’ll hold her own.

But no matter what I do - I know there’s always someone stronger.

Or else, they simply work in groups.

But this girl-

This wonderful, smart, amazing being.

Only two, she’s already tougher than me.

From scraped knees to nightmares, I let her know I’m there.

I can pray she won’t get hurt.

And f*** I hope she doesn’t

But my fear is no longer her.

My greatest fear now is failing my daughter.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Angel Friesen

I use my expertise in sociology, psychology, and business to create daily articles with various social sciences/political themes. My hope is to educate and entertain in the search of understanding the human condition.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.