Poets logo

My Forsaken Soldier

A story of a soldier's widow, trying to make sense of his parting.

By Rose MayPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
1

What am I supposed to do without you,

my dear sweet stolen Andrew?

What about little James and Sarah-lee,

what are they to do without their beloved Daddy?

I can see no reason why you should have been taken,

so I pray that the officers were simply mistaken.

Sometimes on a quiet night like tonight,

I dream of storming up to the heavens with all my might.

I sit before the almighty lord,

put my throat up to his sword,

sink down to my knees

and for your soul sing my pleas.

I ask him if it’s me he’s forsaken,

for I suffer because it’s you he’s taken.

I sob into his majesty,

the so called lord almighty.

He frowns and furrows his brow,

tilt his head at my pathetic bow.

He extends his hand and caresses my damp face

and for his judgement I limply brace.

He says he respects my courage,

but it’s you life can no longer nourish.

He promises your spirit is safe with him,

that it’s me and them you live within.

But I want you close to hold my hand,

you in flesh I do demand.

He simply shakes his head once more,

looking down at me upon the stone cold floor.

Fore all that can be said hath been spoken

and you shall never be awoken.

So I'm banished back down to the dirt, earth and soil

feeling the rage within my veins bubble to a boil.

Then as I wake all emotion seems to cease,

as numbness feeds upon me like a beast.

I feel your ghostly hand upon my shoulder,

my torn down courageous soldier.

My frail heart continues to shatter,

because nobody seems to think you matter.

So I break away and cloud my heart in stone,

silence my heart's last weeping moan.

Banish from my mind the lord above,

for he has stolen from me my cherished love.

He who idly stands by in times of war,

never even daring to confess what it’s all for.

He told me you reside within,

but forgive me for my sin,

for I damn that deity,

because this is not enough for me.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Rose May

Just wanted to share some words with you.

Please please leave feedback if you want to! I would really appreciate anything, thank you for reading :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.