Poets logo

My Dressing Routine

I’ve learnt to follow this routine without fail

By Colleen Millsteed Published 3 years ago 2 min read
My Dressing Routine
Photo by Ann Danilina on Unsplash

I wake each morning and climb out of bed

It’s time to get dressed and without a mistake,

I choose the same outfit day in and day out

A routine not for the timid, it’s totally for my sake.

***

I search through the cupboard and then the drawers

Oh no, that’s rights it’s all hanging on the line,

I cannot begin my routine with out my big girl panties

I’ll never be able to leave my house if I cannot find.

***

It’s a basic necessity, really not too much to ask

Ahhhh there they are as I’m flooded with relief,

With panties on I start searching for the next

An undergarment that’s going to share my beliefs.

***

I find it easily and pull it down over my head

This undergarment is my deepest of trust,

So I need a dress or skirt of optimism next

Okay a skirt today, so I’ll need a belt to adjust.

***

With a skirt on, a blouse is called for don’t you think

I have the perfect little top to match the set,

It is a shower of happiness, who would not love that

But still there’s more missing, I’m not dressed yet.

***

I scrounge around my drawers, I know it is here

No not my anger, not today, it’s definitely not needed,

I’m looking for the overcoat that shouts out loud

Saying yes to life, knowing I have already succeeded.

***

I found my frustration but that’s not what I want

Wahoo, I found it as I gleefully wrap it around me,

I’m almost ready to commence my busy day

With socks of strength covering each knee.

***

Shoes, I still need shoes, now where can they be

I don’t want my temper boots, no, no, not today,

Understanding heels will compliment my outfit

Still I cannot find them, so maybe I have no say.

***

Then my next choice will be my empathy flats

Yes, there they are, right up there at the back,

I entice them to me and slip them on my feet

I look my best but none of this is off-the-rack.

***

It’s all been designed and crafted solely for me

And this routine is what will make or break my day,

It’s given great thought and each piece is just right

It’s the best I can do, I’ll face the day come what may.

*************************************************

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Originally posted on Medium

surreal poetry

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    This was so clever!

Colleen Millsteed Written by Colleen Millsteed

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.