Poets logo

My Dearest Friend

Friends for eternity

By Doris HenryPublished about a year ago 2 min read
Like

Dear friend, as you venture far away

My heart fills with both joy and dismay

Though I’m thrilled to see you chase your dreams

I’ll miss your laughter, your hugs, your gleams

Our memories shared, they’ll stay with me

Through every moment, each day, endlessly

The times we laughed until our sides hurt

Or cried until our souls were alert

Remember the day we walked in the rain?

When you shared with me your deepest pain?

We stood there, soaking wet, but content

In the knowledge our bond was truly meant

I’ll miss those days when we’d sit and chat

About everything, from this to that

Our opinions, our hopes, our fears, our loves

Unveiled to each other, like doves

And those nights when we’d dance the night away

In the clubs, to the beat, without any delay

With you, I felt alive, free, unbound

Like nothing in the world could bring me down

But now, my friend, you’re off to explore

New horizons, new people, new shores

And I’m left here, with a heavy heart

Knowing that from you, I’ll soon depart

But

Though distance may separate us physically

I know our friendship will not depart

For the bond we share, by love and cherished memories

it’s deep and true connected through lifes misteries

And distance won’t change that, that’s my view

So as you pack up and say goodbye

With a tear in my eye, I’ll wave and sigh

But know that my heart will always hold

A special place for you, never to be sold

And as you travel to your new abode

And start your life on this uncharted road

Remember that I’m always here for you

To share your joys, your sorrows, your breakthroughs

So go forth, my friend, and chase your dreams

Live your life to the fullest, it seems

And when you think of the past we shared

Know that in my heart, you’re always there

We've shared so much laughter and tears

Over the years, we've conquered our fears

Our memories together will forever remain

In my heart, they'll continue to sustain

Yours Sincerely

Your biggest fan

Know

Bou

That As you embark on this new journeyMay your heart be filled with joy and gleeAnd may the road ahead be paved with successAs you continue to strive for happinessPlease keep in touch, my dear friendAs we navigate through life's twists and bendsFor though we may be far apartYou'll always have a special place in my heartFarewell, my friend, and may your dreams come trueKnow that I'll always be here for youNo matter where you go or what you doOur friendship will remain forever true.

love poemssad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Doris Henry is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.