Poets logo

My Dangerous Decoy

A Poem On Distracting

By Amanda OlejniczakPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
Like
My Dangerous Decoy
Photo by Camila Quintero Franco on Unsplash

Don't be fooled by my successful outcome

I Have been through some incredibly shady circumstances

So much so, that I was convinced I wasn't supposed to be alive past 18

Truth be told, I was not well and needed help

Really scared and wanted to know what stability felt like

Anorexia became my go-to

Coping skill of sorts, to deal with my pain

Though it was a real problem in it of itself

I absolutely used it as a decoy to the real issue

Oblivious to what was actually happening to me internally

No one knew what lived behind my mask

sad poetryCONTENT WARNING
Like

About the Creator

Amanda Olejniczak

I am a writer, poet, and proud advocate for mental health. Addtional content I create can be found on Instagram: @amanda_unfiltered or @amanda_unfiltered_poetry.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Kendall Defoe 11 months ago

    I really do like this one. You are telling a real story and I felt like my life was being shown back to me. Excellent!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.