Poets logo

To The Person I Love Next

Dear Future Love

By Amanda OlejniczakPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
To The Person I Love Next
Photo by Debby Hudson on Unsplash

Dear Future Love,

I’ve been broken in my past

Shattered to pieces, actually

Because my heart

I thought

Was so much more full when I allowed less

But so much was missing

And in pushing away or ignoring all of the empty parts

I was brought to a downfall

And I did the same with my body

The more empty I felt and the less space I took up

The closer to complete

I thought I was

Right when I believed I was achieving what I had sought out for

My world came crashing down

My failures have brought me to this place where I understand now more than ever

That emptiness does not make me more whole

By Felicia Buitenwerf on Unsplash

I am learning to love myself as one piece

As a perfectly imperfect human

Going back to my roots

Where I stand up for what’s right

And participate in a life where interactions are fun and exciting

So that way, I can love you too, just as you desire and deserve

I can not ever promise a love without conflict and compromise

Or a life without ups and downs

But I can promise that all of me will love all of you

I will meet you exactly where you’re at and will support you through this crazy ride

So get ready

I’m goofy

I sing classic rock songs out of tune with a passion

And love going on adventures

Or staying home with the fur babies

I will always love fully and won’t ever leave you questioning what my intentions are

I am a writer and believe communication is so important

But so are actions

All I ask of you is that you see me

And love me accordingly and I will do the same for you

Get ready to take on the world with me

Sincerely,

Your Future Love

By Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Amanda Olejniczak

I am a writer, poet, and proud advocate for mental health. Addtional content I create can be found on Instagram: @amanda_unfiltered or @amanda_unfiltered_poetry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.