Poets logo

My color

Viewing my colors differently

By Raymond 'Rafiki' WestmorelandPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
My color
Photo by Jason Leung on Unsplash

Is my color showing through?

Can you see me?

Is what you're thinking really true?

Second guessing

They say that everyone's the same

Inside of darkness

And my color never stains

Unless you try to start shit

What am I supposed to do

I can't change this

To myself I must be true

Please don't test this.

Sure on the surface you see a black man.

Stereotypical facts

Sand never coming back

The hands of time never seem to stack.

What vibe do I give you on the surface?

What signs do I give you?

What's my purpose?

Maybe you assume I'm straight?

Because in my community

A man's gotta control his fate

Can't let anybody think that he is gay

Maybe you can relate?

To this day

There are still people who are never gonna see

That for me gender doesn't really change

Whether you have eggplant

Or va jay jay

Understanding could drive you insane

But for me it makes sense

Just love the person within

For who they are in their skin

They'll show their heart

And their sin

Just open up

And let them in.

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

Raymond 'Rafiki' Westmoreland

I write songs and poetry. I try to see things in a different light from the "Enemies" perspective. I feel that understanding a person's story makes the world a better place.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.