Poets logo

My Brain Betrays Me

Brain Fog

By J. Delaney-HowePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
11
My Brain Betrays Me
Photo by Maksim ŠiŠlo on Unsplash

Why won’t you work correctly for me?

You give me thoughts,

Just not the ones I need.

You keep me up every night,

Telling me to be anxious about EVERYTHING;

Racing thoughts at an uncontrollable speed.

You play tricks on me, and tell me lies.

Everyone hates me, trust no one,

Do not believe what I see with my eyes.

You hide words that I need away,

So I search for the right ones.

But you stop me from saying what I need to say

You interfere with the working of my hands,

Stopping messages I send that tell them to work,

Surprised at where my hands land.

You make me feel sick, my stomach upset,

And cause incredible pain in my head.

But alas, you are not done yet.

You leave me in a fog, blurry thoughts;

Sometimes I can’t find my way out,

Like I am trying to escape, but I always get caught.

Thank you for reading my work! I appreciate all reads, hearts, and subscribes. If you would like to read more of my work, click here.

sad poetry
11

About the Creator

J. Delaney-Howe

Bipolar poet. Father. Grandfather. Husband. Gay man. I write poetry, prose, some fiction and a good bit about family. Thank you for stopping by.

Queer Vocal Voices on Facebook.

Find me on Facebook.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Fabulous piece, and one I can relate to. Well done.

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    That was really well done. Your descriptions were so spot on. I feel so many of those things right now with fun hormone changes. Excellent work :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.