Poets logo

But Still Comes the Dawn

J. Delaney-Howe

By J. Delaney-HowePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
17
But Still Comes the Dawn
Photo by Ivana Cajina on Unsplash

This poem highlights the struggles some people with Bipolar have at night. It is me. I am some people. My hope in writing so openly about my mental health is that someone reads it and feels they are not alone. Like someone else actually struggles with the same things in the same way. You are not alone, and still comes the dawn.

****

Darkness settles in.

I am exhausted, but no rest finds me.

Sleep evades me.

Pacing around the house because my legs won’t let me be still

But still comes the dawn.

Thoughts race out of control.

No focus on anything.

My body starts to tremble.

My insides are twisted and I itch under my skin.

But still comes the dawn.

Anxiety starts to crush me under its heavy load.

Paranoia begins to alter my thoughts.

Lies in my head hide the truth.

Irrational anger turns everything red

But still the dawn comes.

Eyes are burning.

Tears are flowing.

Despair fills me.

Darkness calls to me.

But now comes the dawn.

inspirational
17

About the Creator

J. Delaney-Howe

Bipolar poet. Father. Grandfather. Husband. Gay man. I write poetry, prose, some fiction and a good bit about family. Thank you for stopping by.

Queer Vocal Voices on Facebook.

Find me on Facebook.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Oneg In The Arctic2 months ago

    So heavy and honest and sucker-punch good

  • River Joy2 months ago

    I love this one

  • River Joy3 months ago

    Really well expressed here Jim. I could feel the energy in your words. Well done and powerful

  • Chloe Gilholy3 months ago

    connected to the sleep evades me line.

  • Lamar Wiggins5 months ago

    Very vivid and anxious! I could feel every word! Excellent interpretation of the emotion! 🔥💖

  • Mother Combs5 months ago

    Such raw emotion. Thank you for sharing this

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Thank you for sharing this raw and honest look into your struggles :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.